文章目录
All You Need to Know About the IB Middle Years Programme IB MYP

全面解讀IB Middle Years Programme / IB MYP

IB MYP是一個富有挑戰性的項目,適合希望獲得先進學習和發展機會的中學生。今天,我們將為大家全方位解讀IB MYP,希望能夠幫助同學和家長們對這個項目建立一個比較全面的了解。
1. 什麼是IB MYP?

International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme,簡稱 IB MYP,是為 11-16 歲的中學生開設的一項為期五年的嚴格課程。根據與學校的合作情況,學生可以參加縮略版的 MYP 課程,如兩年、三年或四年制的課程。該計劃的使命是為學生提供具有挑戰性的課程,讓他們接觸國際教育,為進入現實世界做好準備。該計劃使學生能夠從地方、國家和國際等多個層面理解問題和觀點。通過 參加the International Baccalaureate IB MYP 課程學生能夠:

  • 樹立自主學習的信心
  • 在實踐中學習,將課堂與更廣闊的世界聯繫起來
  • 在關鍵學術技能方面優於不參加IB課程的學生
  • 在IB考試中始終取得更大的成功
  • 在積極的學校文化氛圍中茁壯成長
  • 培養對全球挑戰的理解和作為負責任公民的承諾

(參考資料:IB 網站

總之,該項目旨在培養和幫助學生,不斷鍛煉他們以下這些能力:

  • 詢問者
  • 知識淵博
  • 思考者
  • 溝通者
  • 富有原則
  • 思維開放
  • 關愛他人
  • 敢於冒險
  • 發展均衡
  • 善於反思

在成功完成 MYP 課程後,學生將為參加 IB 文憑課程(DP)或職業相關課程(CP)做好準備。

2. IB MYP 的課程設置是什麼?

IB MYP 課程的重點是理解人類的共同點和對地球的共同守護,即全球意識和改變世界的動力。因此,IB MYP 課程將圍繞 與自己、與他人、與世界的關係 這6個層面 展開: 身份與 關係、個人與文化表達、時空定位、科技創新、公平與發展、全球化與可持續發展。參照 6 個層面,學生需要學習8個主要科目組:

  • 語言學習
  • 語言和文學
  • 個人和社會
  • 科學
  • 數學
  • 藝術
  • 體育與健康教育
  • 設計

MYP 課程要求授權學校為每個學科組提供至少 50 個小時的授課時間。對於提供四年製或五年制課程的授權學校而言,學生可以選修八個學科組中六個學科組的IB課程,這些課程是根據每個學生的個人需求量身定制的。

除主要課程外,學生還需參加 至少 一個跨學科單位 (至少涉及兩個科目)。 跨學科學習單元的目的是鼓勵學生在不同的知識領域之間建立聯繫,從而理解複雜的問題和觀點,增強學生解決全球性問題的能力。

除主要課程和跨學科單元外,學生還必須參加 MYP 項目

  • 在第3或第4學年完成該計劃的學生必須獨立或以小組形式完成一個社區服務項目
  • 在第 5 年完成該課程的學生需要完成一個個人項目,以測試學生獨立工作的能力

對於MYP 項目,學生可以自由選擇他們想要學習的內容,通過確定與所選主題相關的現有知識和新知識來完成項目。在構思階段之後,學生將為項目準備建議書和適當的文件。最終的成果是一個產品或項目,反映了他們在學習和項目成果方面的發展。

以下是巴黎國際學校提供的課程示例。學校為希望在 3 年、4 年或 5 年內完成課程的學生提供了多種選擇。學習時間越長,每個科目組的學習就越深入、越廣泛。該課程的唯一不同之處在於,IB MYP5 將個人項目作為 MYP 項目要求。

International school of paris
3. 哪些學校開設 MYP 課程和 IB MYP?

目前,108 個國家的 1,358 所授權學校開設了 MYP 課程。如果您是一名初中新生,正在尋找提供 IB MYP 課程的學校,請查看 IB 網站以了解更多。

4. IB MYP 的考試制度是什麼?

在完成IB MYP 課程後,學生可選擇完成外部評估,以獲得國際認可的證書。 IB項目在 MYP 課程中採用內部和選修外部評估(電子評估)。

在內部評估或校本評估中,教師使用評估標準來評估規定的學科組目標。

外部評估是可選的,取決於學校是否報名參加。如果是,學生可以參加這兩種考試中的任何一種:

  • 課程作業電子檔案袋,包括個人項目的必修電子檔案袋。
  • IB 考試,每次考試持續兩個小時。
5. 你應該參加IB MYP嗎?

通過參加 IB MYP 中學項目,你可以獲得許多在普通中學就讀時無法獲得的益處:

  • 參與連續性課程:通過跨學科的技能和知識,為未來的教育做好準備。 PYP(小學課程)、MYP(多年課程)和DP(文憑課程)提供持續教育,為學生的下一步教育旅程做好準備。 IB MYP 是高中階段學習 IB DP 的最佳預備課程,它可以讓學生體驗大學水平的課程並獲得大學學分。
  • 獲得國際認可的證書:由於全球有 108 多個國家開設了國際文憑課程,因此您獲得的 IB 證書具有很大的學術價值。 IB 文憑被大多數一流的高中和大學院校認可,如果你決定在世界各國繼續深造,它將幫助你脫穎而出。
  • 學生通過實踐和體驗來學習,而不是死記硬背IB 課程非常善於教授批判性思維。IB課程嚴謹而富有挑戰性,通過實踐和體驗向學生傳授知識。通過 MYP 社區項目和個人項目,學生學會了服務社區、獨立開展學習以及將課堂所學與現實世界聯繫起來。此外,IB項目還讓學生學會理解,而不僅僅是死記硬背事實或題目,為一次又一次的考試做準備。
  • 通過學習跨學科領域,培養軟技能和全球意識:通過IB MYP 課程,我們大力鼓勵學生分析和評估問題,並在具有全球意義的思想和問題的背景下考慮新的觀點。在整個學習過程中,學生將培養批判性思維能力、合作精神和獨立性。當學生成長為青年時,他們將發展成為自信、獨立、積極進取的學習者和工作者。

這些都是我們在分析該計劃和聽取學生反饋時觀察到的。 IB官方還發布了 一篇研究論文分析了參加和未參加 IB MYP 中學課程的學生的成績。將參加 IB MYP 課程與 AP 和 IB 成績進行比較發現參加 MYP 課程與 AP 和 IB 課程的成功率呈正相關

IB課程對初中生來說是一個令人興奮而又充滿挑戰的旅程,它將幫助他們更好地認識自我,認識自己所屬的社區,認識自己生活的世界。

閱讀更多:

在考慮選擇 IB MYP 課程之前,您應該閱讀這篇文章,進一步了解 IB 課程及其對您未來的幫助。我們還將 IB和AP課程對照以便您決定學習什麼課程。

如果您對 IB 課程不感興趣又屬於在美國讀書的情況,那麼AP 課程對您來說也是一個有益的選擇。

特此聲明:以上內容為 Aralia Education Technology原創。 歡迎鏈接此文章至您的網站或其他平台。 請不要直接複製內容並發布至您的網站或其他平台,轉發或引用文章內容需經授權,請聯繫郵箱 info@aralia.com。

更多文章
開啟你的提升之旅!
返回頂端

Guide to the IB Middle Years Programme / IB MYP

The International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (IB MYP) is an exciting and challenging program for middle school students who want to receive advanced learning and developmental opportunities. Read the article to learn more about the program!
All You Need to Know About the IB Middle Years Programme IB MYP

In the article, we will cover:

1. What is the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme / IB MYP?

International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme, or IB MYP, is a five-year rigorous program for middle school students from 11-16 years of age. Depending on the partnership with schools, students may participate in abbreviated versions of MYP, such as two, three, or four-year formats of the program. The program’s mission is to provide students with a challenging curriculum that will expose them to international education and prepare them for the real world. The program empowers students to understand issues and ideas on multiple levels, locally, nationally, and internationally. By participating in the International Baccalaureate IB MYP program, students will: 

  • build confidence in managing their own learning
  • learn by doing, connecting the classroom to the larger world
  • outperform non-IB students in critical academic skills
  • consistently have greater success in IB Diploma Programme examinations
  • thrive in positive school cultures where they are engaged and motivated to excel 
  • develop an understanding of global challenges and a commitment to act as responsible citizens.

(Resource: IB website)

In short, the program aims to develop and help students thrive in these learner profiles: 

  • Inquirers
  • Knowledgeable
  • Thinkers
  • Communicators
  • Principled
  • Open-minded
  • Caring
  • Risk-takers
  • Balanced
  • Reflective 

After the successful completion of the MYP Programme, students will be prepared to take the IB Diploma Programme (DP) or Career-related Programme (CP). 

2. What’s the curriculum of the IB Middle Years Programme / IB MYP?

The focus of the IB MYP programme is around the understanding of common humanity and shared guardianship of the planet, which is global awareness and the drive to change the world. Therefore, the IB MYP curriculum is built around 6 layers of the relationship to oneself, to others, and to the world: identities and relationships, personal and cultural expression, orientations in space and time, scientific and technical innovation, fairness and development, globalization and sustainability. In referring to the 6 theme groups, there are 8 main subject groups that students will need to study: 

  • Language acquisition
  • Language and literature
  • Individuals and societies
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Arts
  • Physical and health education
  • Design

The MYP program requires authorized schools to provide at least 50 hours of instruction time for each subject group. For authorized schools which offer a four or five-year programme, students can take IB courses from six of the eight subject groups, which are tailored to each student’s individual needs. 

In addition to the main curriculum, students are also required to participate in at least one interdisciplinary unit that involves at least two subject groups. The purpose of the interdisciplinary learning unit is to encourage students to make connections between different areas of knowledge, in order to understand complex issues and ideas and empower students to solve global problems. 

Along with the main curriculum and the interdisciplinary unit, students also must participate in MYP projects

  • Students who complete the program in year 3 or 4 must complete a community service project independently or in a small group 
  • Students who complete the program in year 5 are required to do a personal project, testing student’s ability to conduct independent work

For the Middle Years Programme MYP projects, students have the freedom to choose what they want to learn about through identifying existing knowledge on the chosen topic and new knowledge to complete the project. After the ideation stage, students will prepare proposals and appropriate documents for the project. The end result is a product or a project that reflects their development in learning and project outcome. 

Below is an example curriculum provided by the International School of Paris. The school offers options for students who want to complete the program in 3, 4, or 5 years. The longer you study in the program, the deeper and broader you will focus on each subject group. The only difference in this curriculum is that IB MYP5 offers a personal project as an MYP project requirement. 

International school of paris
3. What schools offer MYP classes and IB Middle Years Programme / IB MYP

MYP is currently offered in 1,358 authorized schools in 108 countries. If you are an incoming middle school student who is looking for schools that offer the IB MYP program, check out this IB website to learn more. 

4. What is the testing system of the IB Middle Years Programme / IB MYP?

Upon the completion of courses in the IB MYP Programme, students have the option to complete external assessments to receive an internationally recognized certificate. The IB Programme uses internal and optional external assessments (eAssessment) in the MYP. 

For internal assessment, or school-based assessments, teachers use the assessment criteria to assess prescribed subject-group objectives. 

External assessment is optional based on whether the school registers for it or not. If yes, students can participate in any of these two types of examinations: 

  • ePortfolios of coursework, including a compulsory ePortfolio for the personal project.
  • On-screen IB exams, with each exam lasting two hours.
5. Should you enroll in the IB Middle Years Programme / IB MYP?

By participating in the IB MYP Middle Years Programme, you receive many benefits that you wouldn’t have received when enrolling in a normal middle school: 

  • Be involved in a continuum curriculum: You are prepared for future education with interdisciplinary skills and knowledge. The PYP (Primary Years Programme), MYP, and DP (Diploma Programme) provide continuing education to prepare students for the next steps in their educational journey. IB MYP is the best available prep program for the IB DP in high school, which allows students to experience college-level coursework and earn college credits.
  • Receive an internationally recognized certificate: Since International Baccalaureate programs are offered in more than 108 countries around the world, the IB certificate you receive provides lots of value academically. The IB diploma is recognized by most leading high school and college institutions, which will help you stand out significantly if you decide to pursue advanced education in countries around the world. 
  • Students learn by doing and experience, not memorizing: “The IB is very good at teaching critical thinking, while AP is much more memorization (as I’ve heard from friends who take AP classes).” With the rigor and challenging curriculum, the IB programme teaches students by doing and experiencing. Through the MYP community project and personal project, students learn to serve the community, conduct learning independently and connect what they learn in the classroom to the real world. In addition, the IB programme allows students to learn to understand, instead of just memorizing facts or topics and preparing for exams after exams. 
  • Develop soft skills and global awareness through studying interdisciplinary areas: With the IB MYPcurriculum, you are strongly encouraged to analyze and evaluate issues and consider new perspectives in the context of globally significant ideas and issues. Throughout the process of learning, students will develop critical thinking skills, cooperation, and independence. As students grow into young adults, they will develop to become confident and independent learners and workers who are motivated to excel. 

These are our observations when analyzing the program and listening to student’s feedback. IB has also released a research paper analyzing student performance with and without participating in the IB MYP Middle Years Programme.  When comparing participation in the IB MYP program to AP and IB performance, MYP participation is positively related to greater success in the AP and IB programs. 

The International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme is an exciting and challenging journey for middle school students that will help them have a better sense of self within themselves, within the community they belong to, and within the world they are living in. 

Further Reading: 

Before considering IB MYP as an option, you should read this article to learn more about the IB program and how it will help you in the future. We have also put the IB and AP programs into a comparison table, so you can make an educated decision about what to study. 

If you are not interested in the IB program, the AP program can be a beneficial option for you, especially if you are in the U.S.

Scroll to Top
Aralia Education Technology logo full

CONNECT WITH OUR CONSULTANTS

to register for classes and schedule with our teachers

By signing up, you agree to Aralia’s Privacy Policy & Terms of Use

HOW ARALIA WILL HELP YOU ACHIEVE

Joining this list is one of them. We send weekly emails with updates about new courses, learning tips, and opportunities for 1:1 call with our consultants

By signing up, you agree to Aralia’s Privacy Policy & Terms of Use