國際關係研究課程

在教授的指導下,學生將寫一篇關於國際關係主題的15頁論文; 研究課題的例子:什麼是全球化? 我們如何衡量它? 全球化的利弊是什麼? 減少政府腐敗的最佳方法是什麼? 使用透明的數據,選擇一個國家並撰寫報告等。
適合學生

對國際關係領域感興趣並想做相關研究的高中生

課程難度

各級別

課程規格

一對一或小組課(每班最多7名學生)

課程介紹

國際關係學是研究國際關係的行為體之間相互作用,各種國際體系運行和演變規律的一門學問。 國際關係學的主體是政治學和歷史學,也和哲學、法學、地理學、社會學、人類學、心理學等學科緊密相連。 作為中學生,要了解我們周圍的世界,我們必須成為“世界公民”。 我們需要讓自己步入他人的視野,了解他人如何看待世界,並與這些差異建立聯繫。 參與國際關係的研究可以讓我們更加仔細地思考全球問題,並訓練我們在需要時採取行動。 不如來參加美國東北大學政治學博士,現任東北大學教授開設的國際關係研究項目!

小組課程將介紹社會科學研究中常用的方法,學生將熟悉研究和評估的概念、方法和應用; 學習如何批判性地分析研究;並提出一個適當的研究項目來說明重要問題。 一對一課程將幫助學生在預先設計的教師專業領域或學生感興趣的主題中撰寫獨立的研究論文。

準備在未來準備大學申請的學生們將學習研究方法和結構、如何使用理論框架、開發研究問題和正確的APA引文格式,為未來的高級學術研究做準備。

完成本課程後,學生將製作一份精美的8-15頁研究論文,獲得導師推薦信和 Aralia Education 的結業證書。

課程目標
  • 完成一份 8-15 頁的研究論文
  • 形成原創的學術主張,有效地定義並論證它
  • 一封來自老師的推薦信
  • 老師的一份最終學術報告
  • 1 份 Aralia 結業證書
潛在課題
  • 什麼是貿易戰?它們對誰有利?
  • 你將為國家安全委員會 (NSC) 撰寫一系列論文,涉及兩個重要問題領域:人權和環境。 將涵蓋的主題包括但不限於:婦女權利、兒童權利、人口販賣、兒童兵等。
  • 什麼是全球化? 我們如何衡量它? 全球化的利弊是什麼?
  • 減少政府腐敗的最佳方法是什麼? 使用透明國際組織的數據,選擇一個國家並撰寫一份有關情況的報告以及您的政策建議
  • 當今世界的民主程度如何? 互聯網自由是什麼意思? 您期望在未來 5 年內看到世界的預測是什麼?
  • Twitter 是否在審查特朗普? 什麼是言論自由? 你會建議 Twitter 和 Facebook 的領導者做什麼?
課程安排

課次

主要內容

1

課程大綱概述

2

研究目的

3

理論框架

4

如何進行文獻回顧

5

研究設計

6

數據分析

課程反饋

本課程旨在讓學生對經濟學的基本原理有基本的了解。 在中學學習的所有科目中,經濟學的基本原理是不可或缺的。 在本課程中,學生將把經濟學原理應用於日常場景。 老師將幫助學生進行經濟思考並做出合理的決定。

課時安排

4節小組課(每節2小時)和7節一對一課(每節1小時)

ARALIA睿雅 春季特色課程

返回頂端

International Relations Research Project

Under the guidance of the professor, students will write a 15-page paper on the topic of international relations; examples of research topics: What is globalization? How do we measure it? What are the pros and cons of globalization? What is the best way to reduce government corruption? Use the data of Transparency International, select a country and write a report, etc.
Designed for

Students who are interested in international relations and want to do related research

Level

All levels

Class format

One-on-one and small group (Max. 7 students/class)

Class Introduction

International Relations is the study of interactions, the operation, and evolution of various international systems. The core of international relations is in political science and history, in connections with philosophy, law, geography, sociology, anthropology, psychology and other disciplines. Middle school students must become “citizens of the world,” by understanding how other people perceive the world, and establishing connections among these differences. Led by a Northeastern University professor, the course encourages students to think profoundly about global issues through researching on international relations. 

Group courses will introduce commonly used methods in social science research. Students will learn new concepts, research methods, and applications of research and evaluation; learn how to analyze research critically; and propose an appropriate research project to illustrate important issues. One-to-one courses will help students write a research paper on a topic of interest. 

Students will learn research methods and structures, how to use theoretical frameworks, develop research questions, and the correct APA citation format. 

After completing this course, students will have an 8-15 page research paper, receive a recommendation letter from the teacher, and a certificate of completion from Aralia Education.

Outcome
  • Completed an original 15-page research paper.
  • Developed an original intellectual position, effectively defined and argued it.
  • One recommendation letter from the teacher.
  • 1 final academic report from the teacher.
  • 1 Aralia Research Program Certificate.
Research Topics
  • What are trade wars and who do they benefit?
  • You have been asked to write a series of papers for the National Security Council (NSC) covering two important issue areas: human rights and the environment. Topics you will cover include but are not limited to: the rights of women, the rights of children, human trafficking, child soldiers, protection of speech and political activities (for example Russia, Turkey, China), protection from discrimination based upon ethnicity, race or religion, clean air, global warming, and access to sufficient and clean water, refugee policy, immigration policy. 
  • What is globalization? How do we measure it? What have been some pros and cons of globalization?
  • What is the best approach to reduce corruption in the government? Using Transparency International data, choose a country and write a report of the situation along with your policy recommendations
  • Based on the work from Freedom House, how democratic is the world today? What does Internet Freedom mean? What is the projection that you expect to see in the world in the next 5 years?
  • Is Twitter censoring Donald Trump? What is free speech? What would you recommend to the leaders of Twitter and Facebook to do?
Course Content

Lesson

Topics

1

Overview of the course syllabus

2

Purpose of Study

3

Theoretical Frameworks

4

How to Conduct a Literature review

5

Research design

6

Data Analysis

Feedback

Students and their parents will receive brief feedback after each class regarding the student’s general participation in class. Students will also receive feedback on graded assignments via email. 

Schedule

4 group classes (2 hours each) and 7 one-on-one class (1 hour each) 

2024 Spring Group Classes: Open for Registration

Scroll to Top