美國高中數學科目完整列表

高中數學課
閱讀本指南來了解美國高中的數學課程,並決定哪些高中數學課程最適合你未來的職業生涯。

高中數學課程中有許多分支,選擇合適的課程對高中生來說可能具有挑戰性。 在本文中,我們將介紹Common Core課程,幫助你更好地了解高中數學課的標準和要求。 之後,我們還將提供有關可供參加的數學課程列表的信息。

共同核心標準課程

根據 數學科目的共同核心標準,學校必須涵蓋高中數學課程的六個領域:

大多數高中的最低要求包括三年的數學才能畢業,並建議學習四年。 這些要求通常還包括完成代數課和幾何課。

數學的一般領域包括:

  • Number and Quantity 數量
  • Algebra 代數
  • Functions 方程
  • Modeling 建模
  • Geometry 幾何
  • Statistics and Probability 統計和概率

因此,根據 Common Core 標準,從高一到高四的高中數學核心課程的典型順序是:

  • Algebra 1 代數1
  • Geometry 幾何
  • Algebra 2/Trigonometry 代數2/三角學
  • Pre-Calculus 預備微積分
  • Calculus 微積分

在進入高中之前,學生將 參加分班考試以確定他們目前的知識水平。 有興趣在高中或大學進一步學習數學的學生可以考慮更高級的數學課程,如統計學、AP 微積分 AB、AP 微積分 BC,或其他與數學相關的課程,如計算機科學課程。

雖然不同的學校有不同的課程,但大多數學校都遵循共同核心標準。 以下是一些常見的高中數學課程:

高中數學課
Algebra 1 代數1

這是你進入高中第一年時的第一堂高中數學課。 在本課程中,將學習表達式、方程組、函數、實數、線性問題、多項式、二次方程和函數等主題。

學生可以根據他們在 9 年級開始時的分班考試結果,在高一時被安排到該課程或其他高級數學課程, 幾何或代數 2。

Geometry 幾何

在幾何課中,將學習幾何圖形在平面和空間中的關係,以及演繹證明等數學方法。 內容建立在代數 I 之上。

Algebra 2 代數2

代數 2 是建立在代數 I 基礎上的課程序列。你將學習的主題包括有理數指數、函數、二次函數和復數、線性和二次方程的解、不等式、絕對值方程、多項式、指數、對數 , 和有理函數。

Trigonometry 三角學

許多學校將三角學中涵蓋的主題整合到微積分預科課程中。 三角學課程建立在代數 II 的基礎上,目的是準備初等微積分。 在本課程中,你將學習代數內容以及六個基本三角函數的代數和圖形研究。

Pre-Calculus 預備微積分

預備微積分將為你提供三角函數、多項式和有理函數以及對指數函數方面的深厚知識。 預備微積分將為準備微積分或AP微積分。

微積分

在微積分課程中,學生可以繼續學習微積分預科課程中的材料,並開始學習微分和初等函數的積分,重點是解決問題。 這被認為是將參加的高級高中數學課程

AP課程

對於對大學STEM專業感興趣的學生來說,參加AP統計、AP微積分AB或AP微積分BC等 AP課程是大學申請的重要起點。

  • AP微積分 AB:探索微積分和積分的概念、方法和應用。 一般相當於第一學期大學水平微積分課程。
  • AP微積分BC:探索微積分和積分的概念、方法和應用。 本課程包括AP微積分AB中涵蓋的所有內容,並添加了其他主題,包括參數方程、極坐標和矢量函數,以及無限序列和級數。 一般相當於大學水平微積分的2個學期,讓學生在大學開始學習多變量微積分。
  • AP統計學:探索用於收集、分析和從數據中得出結論的主要概念和工具。
榮譽課程

除了常規課程和AP課程外,學校還將開設榮譽數學課程。 榮譽課程以更高的速度進行更深入和更廣的教學,適合想要並能夠處理具有挑戰性和高級數學主題的學生。

計算機科學

計算機科學課程是數學在現實世界中的應用,課程範圍從算法到 Python 的圖論,具體取決於學校。 計算機科學選修課的重點是提供有關數學實際應用的知識以及有關編程的介紹性知識。

大學理事會提供兩項AP計算機科學考試:

  • AP計算機科學A:通過Java編程語言學習計算機科學的概念和工具。 然後,應用所學知識來設計、編寫和測試解決問題或完成任務的計算機程序。
  • AP計算機科學原理:學習計算科學的基礎原理,培養計算機科學家使用的思維技能。 學生獨立工作,並作為團隊的一部分,使用計算工具和過程創造性地解決現實世界的問題。 這門課教授更多關於計算機工作原理的概念,推薦給沒有該領域知識的學生。
進一步提高你對數學和計算機科學的興趣...

如果你對數學感興趣並想發現提高知識的方法,請考慮四種參與和改進的方法:

設計自己的班級

如果你的學校擁有強大的數學和計算機科學課程或 STEM(科學、技術、工程、數學)領域課程,你將更有可能獲得獨立學習的機會。 獨立學習是你將自己感興趣的主題放在一個學科中,並與老師進行一對一的藝術研究/學習。

如果一般對統計學或金融、數學或計算機科學感興趣,可以聯繫學校的數學或計算機科學老師,表達興趣,並在選擇的獨立學習中尋求指導。 推進學習的舉措將有助於學生在大學和職業生涯中,並在提交申請時給大學招生委員會留下良好的印象。

參加數學競賽

高中比賽是在申請池中脫穎而出的好方法! 在大學錄取過程中,如果你的標準化考試成績是進入大學大門的准入證,那麼課外活動就是讓你在招生官眼中脫穎而出的原因。 課外活動包括參加數學俱樂部,或參加地區、國家和國際數學競賽。 歷史最悠久、最負盛名的數學競賽之一絕對是 AMC(美國數學競賽),它有 3 個級別,AMC 8、AMC 10 和 AMC 12。 但是,還有更多與數學相關的比賽,完整名單可以查看我們新發布的 信息圖:提高個人經歷的高中比賽。

對於對 AMC 感興趣並想了解更多有關比賽的學生,不要忘記閱讀此 AMC 綜合指南

參加在線課程

在線高中數學課程可隨時隨地在不同平台上使用。 在 Aralia,我們為中學生和高中生提供標誌性的數學競賽準備,並提供編程和計算機科學課程。 Aralia 的導師都是富有靈感的教師和教授,他們致力於學生的成功。 他們是來自美國知名中學的現任教師,和各大頂尖大學的教授和講師。 更多信息如下:

AMC/HMMT 數學競賽準備

簡介: 在大學申請過程中,許多頂尖大學鼓勵學生提交AMC分數成績。 這門課程是一個完整的AMC10備賽課程和基礎AMC12的預備課程。 會幫助學生填補AMC10考試所需要的知識空白,指導比賽時的策略。 老師會重點帶領學生通過課本中的例子和練習來研究解題方法,讓學生做到舉一反三,融會貫通。

項目時間:全年滾動招生,每週末一節課,每節課1.5小時

回到頂端

聯繫課程顧問獲取更多課程和價格信息

註冊並安排課程時間

簽署即表示您同意Aralia的 隱私權政策 和使用條款

Aralia如何帮助您达成学习目标?

快加入新聞郵件吧! 我們每週將發送電子郵件,其中包含新課程,學習技巧以及優惠活動的最新信息!

簽署即表示您同意Aralia的 隱私權政策 和使用條款

聯繫課程顧問獲取更多課程和價格信息

註冊並安排課程時間

簽署即表示您同意Aralia的 隱私權政策 和使用條款

Aralia如何帮助您达成学习目标?

快加入新聞郵件吧! 我們每週將發送電子郵件,其中包含新課程,學習技巧以及優惠活動的最新信息!

簽署即表示您同意Aralia的 隱私權政策 和使用條款

Complete List of High School Math Classes

Read this guide to learn about math class offerings in high school, and to decide which high school math classes will be the best for you in the journey and your future career in college.
high school math classes

There are numerous branches within high school math classes and choosing the right classes to take can be challenging for high school students. In this article, we will introduce the Common Core curriculum to help you better understand the standard and requirements of math classes in high school. After, we will also provide information about the list of Math classes available for you to take.  

Common Core Curriculum

According to the Common Core Curriculum standard for Math, schools are required to cover six areas in high school math courses:  

Most high schools require students to take three years of math in order to graduate and recommend taking four years. These requirements often also include completing an algebra class and a geometry class. 

General areas of math include: 

  • Number and Quantity  
  • Algebra 
  • Functions  
  • Modeling 
  • Geometry  
  • Statistics and Probability  

Therefore, according to the Common Core standards, a typical order of core High School Math classes from freshman to senior year is:  

  • Algebra 1
  • Geometry
  • Algebra 2/Trigonometry
  • Pre-Calculus
  • Calculus  

Before entering high school, students will take placement exams to determine the level of knowledge they currently have. Students who are interested in further pursuing Math in high school or college can consider more advanced Math classes, like Statistics, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, or other Math-related classes, such as Computer Science classes.  

While different schools have different curricula, the majority at least loosely follow the Common Core standard. Below are some common high school math classes:  

High School Math Classes
Algebra 1

This is the first high school math class when you enter the first high school year. In this course, you’ll study topics ranging from expressions, systems of equations, functions, real numbers, linear questions, polynomials, quadratic equations, and functions.  

Students can be placed into this class for their freshman year, or other advanced math classes like Geometry or Algebra 2, based on their results of a placement test at the end of 8th grade beginning of their 9th-grade year. 

Geometry

In the geometry class, you will study the relationships in geometric figures in a plane and in space, as well as mathematical methods such as deductive proof. The content is built upon Algebra I. 

Algebra 2

Algebra 2 is a course sequence built upon the foundation of Algebra I. Topics you will study include rational number exponents, functions, quadratic functions, and complex numbers, solutions of linear and quadratic equations, inequalities, absolute value equations, polynomials, exponential, logarithmic, and rational functions. 

Trigonometry

Many schools integrate the topics covered in Trigonometry into Pre-Calculus class. Trigonometry class is built upon the foundation of Algebra II, with the goal of preparing you for Precalculus. In this class, you will study algebra content and the algebraic and graphical study of the six elementary trigonometric functions. 

Pre-Calculus

Precalculus will provide you with profound knowledge in trigonometric functions, polynomial and rational functions, and logarithmic and exponential functions. Pre-calculus will prepare you for taking Calculus or AP Calculus. 

Calculus

During Calculus, students can expect to continue the material taught in Pre-Calculus and begin to study differentiation and integration of the elementary functions, with an emphasis on problem-solving. 

AP Classes

For students who’re interested in STEM majors in college, taking AP classes such as AP Statistics, AP Calculus AB, or AP Calculus BC is an important jumpstart in the college application.   

  • AP Calculus AB: Explore the concepts, methods, and applications of differential and integral calculus. Generally equivalent to the 1st semester of college-level calculus. 
  • AP Calculus BC: Explore the concepts, methods, and applications of differential and integral calculus. This class includes all the content covered in AP Calculus AB and adds additional topics including parametric equations, polar coordinates, and vector functions, as well as infinite sequences and series. Generally equivalent to the 2 semesters of college-level calculus, allowing students to start in multi-variable calculus in college. 
  • AP Statistics: Explore major concepts and tools used for collecting, analyzing, and drawing conclusions from data. 

Honors Classes

Besides regular and AP classes, schools will also offer honors mathematics classes. Honors classes are taught with greater depth and breadth at a higher pace and are suitable for students who want and can handle challenging and advanced math topics. 

Computer Science

Computer Science courses are real-world applications of math, with classes ranging from Algorithms to Graph Theory with Python, depending on the school. The focus of computer science electives is to provide you with knowledge about real-world application of math as well as introductory knowledge about programming. 

The College Board offers two AP Computer Science exams: 

  • AP Computer Science A: Learn the concepts and tools of computer science through the Java programming language. Then, apply the knowledge learned to design, write, and test computer programs that solve problems or accomplish tasks. 
  • AP Computer Science Principles: Learn the principles that underlie the science of computing and develop the thinking skills that computer scientists use. Students work on their own and as part of a team to creatively address real-world issues using the tools and processes of computation. This class teaches more of the concepts of how computers work and is recommended for students without knowledge in the area.  

Take your interest in Math and Computer Science further...

If you’re interested in Math and want to discover ways to advance your knowledge, consider four ways to be involved and improve: 

Design your own class

If your school has a strong Math and Computer Science curriculum or STEM (Science, technology, Engineering, Mathematics) field curriculum, you will be more likely to have an independent study opportunity available. Independent study is where you take your topic of interest in a subject and conduct art research/study 1-on-1 with a teacher. 

If you are interested in statistics or finance, math, or computer science in general, you can reach out to a Math or CS teacher at school to express your interest and ask for mentorship in the independent study of your choosing. The initiative to advance your study will help you in college and in your career and create a great impression with the college admission board when you submit your application.    

Participate in Math Competitions

High school competitions are a great way to stand out in the application pool! In the college admission process, if your standardized test scores are entry passes to enter the college’s door, extracurricular activities are what make you stand out to the admissions officer. Extracurricular activities can range from participation in Math Club, or competing in regional, national, and international math competitions. One of the most longest-standing and prestigious math competitions is definitely the AMC (American Mathematics Competition), which has 3 levels, AMC 8, AMC 10, and AMC 12. But, there are more math-related competitions, for the full list, you can check out our newly published Infographic: High school competition to boost your profile.  

For students who are interested in AMC and want to learn more about the competition, don’t forget to read this comprehensive guide to AMC.  

Take an online class

Online high school math classes are available anywhere and anytime on different platforms. At Aralia, we offer a signature Math Competition Prep for middle and high school students, and Computer Science through Programming. Aralia’s tutors are inspired teachers and professors who are committed to student success. They are recognized in their field or are currently teaching at top high schools and colleges/universities in the US. More information is provided below:    

MATH COMPETITION PREP FOR AMC/HMMT

Description: Many Top Colleges require AMC scores as part of the college application. This is a Complete prep course for AMC10 and a partial prep course for AMC12. The course consists of closing any gaps in knowledge required for AMC10 exam, while discussing strategies for taking the exam. The focus is around approaches and methods via examples and exercises in the textbook, in addition to working on exam problems from past years.

Project time: Rolling enrollment throughout the year, one class every weekend, 1.5 hours per class 

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

How to write a business plan
CompetitionsExtracurricular Activities

How to Write a Business Plan

Hidden Benefits of Learning Latin in High School
Academic TipsCollege Application

Hidden Benefits of Learning Latin in High School

How to Create a Pitch Deck
College ApplicationExtracurricular Activities

How to Create a Pitch Deck

6 Unique Business Ideas for High School Students
College ApplicationExtracurricular Activities

6 Unique Business Ideas for High School Students

Everything You Need to Know About AP Statistics Exam
Advanced PlacementStandardized Tests

Everything You Need to Know About AP Statistics Exam

Differences between AP Computer Science A and AP Computer Science Principles
Advanced PlacementStandardized Tests

Differences Between AP Computer Science A and AP Computer Science Principles

Scroll to Top
Aralia Education Technology logo full

CONNECT WITH OUR CONSULTANTS

to register for classes and schedule with our teachers

By signing up, you agree to Aralia’s Privacy Policy & Terms of Use

HOW ARALIA WILL HELP YOU ACHIEVE

Joining this list is one of them. We send weekly emails with updates about new courses, learning tips, and opportunities for 1:1 call with our consultants

By signing up, you agree to Aralia’s Privacy Policy & Terms of Use